8 Odd Alcohol Laws Across the U.S.

That May Make You Want to Put Down Your Drink

8 Odd Alcohol Laws Since the era of Prohibition, alcohol consumption has been an ongoing debate in the U.S. Even though the 21st Amendment was passed in 1933 to repeal the 18th Amendment and ended the era of prohibition, there are still many laws that restrict drinking. Some laws are commonly known while others stand out as being pretty strange. Here are some ones from around the country that really may make you think twice about getting a drink:

  1. You can’t buy liquor and beer in the same place in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, you have to make two separate trips to get that case of beer and then to get a bottle of vodka or rum. There are state run liquor stores and privately owned beer stores. At the beer distributor, you can only buy cases (24 or 30 packs). If you want smaller quantities, you have to go to a bar, bottle shop, or a grocery store that has a special license.

  1. No happy hour in Massachusetts

In Massachusetts it is illegal to “offer or deliver any free drinks to any person; deliver more than two drinks to one person at a time; offer to sell or deliver to any person or group of persons any drinks at a price less than the price regularly charged for such drinks during the same calendar week.”

  1. Drink as much as you want, just don’t be drunk in Georgia

It’s perfectly fine to have as many drinks as you like on the streets in Georgia, but it is unlawful to appear (and be) inebriated.

  1. Warm beer only in the state of Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, all beer containing more than 4 percent alcohol must be sold at room temperature. To get around this, most beer distributors in the state sell low-point beer, which allows it to be sold in convenience stores and in refrigerated form. The law defines low-point beer as any beverage containing between 0.5 and 3.2 percent alcohol

  1. No bar-tending in public in Utah

If you get a drink in Utah, you have to trust that the bartender knows what he or she is really doing. In this state, bartenders are not allowed to make drinks in front of you. Better hope that they don’t skip out on some of the tequila that makes up your tequila sunrise.

  1. Be careful Where you Drink Your Whiskey in the State of Kentucky

Counties throughout Kentucky vary from being dry, prohibiting all sales on alcohol; wet, permitting full retail sales under state license; and moist, occupying a middle ground between the two. Kentucky is known as the home of bourbon, which attracts tourists from all over to visit the historic distilleries. However, they are unable to drink it because the distilleries are located in dry counties. The state allows tourists to take “little” sips of whiskey; no “large” sips though if you’re planning a trip.

  1. Stand up to chug in Texas

In the state of Texas, you are only permitted to take three sips of beer if you are standing up. The state does not specify just how big these sips can be; so make those three good ones.

  1. Laws on alcohol are dictated by individual municipalities in New Jersey

Just one more oddity about the Garden State that you might not know: each township has a great deal of discretion deciding on the ordinances it wants to enforce as far as sales and consumption.  This is why places are “dry towns” where you cannot purchase any kind of alcohol.  Also, the number of liquor licenses available to a particular municipality depends on the population of said place—which might be why you have to drive a little ways to find a bar in certain parts in some southern counties.  These same laws are also why beverages of this nature aren’t conveniently sold in supermarkets.

To sum it all up, there are many laws and regulations throughout the country that are not commonly known that may make you reconsider drinking in certain states and counties. Whether it be that you are traveling for business or pleasure to another state, it is important to know the laws and repercussions for drinking violations. If you find yourself in trouble due to an unknown law in New Jersey, call me, attorney William C. Miller, at 732-742-5556 for a free consultation.